Harrod’s Affirms I’m a middle-class girl from America.

by courtneyanddaniel


Today Daniel and I made our pilgrimage to Harrod’s.  In the rain.  We get there to learn that Harrod’s is a bit overwhelming.  It’s a super-shopper’s paradise.  We wandered around lost for a few minutes (and overwhelmed) but eventually found some sort of visitor’s station and got a map.

With map in hand, we headed to men’s shoes.  There, we found velvet slippers that were Hugh Heffner-esque.  They were also about 900 pounds.  Clearly, we didn’t buy any.

We headed upstairs and played with the puppets in the Toy Kingdom.  They were pretty fun.  Harrod’s also has Pet World which sells pet supplies as well as kittens and puppies.  There were Siamese kittens and British Shorthairs.  They were 900 and 800 pounds each, respectively.  For a few reasons, I don’t have a cat right now.  The 3 Siamese cats watched one of the others from a perch.  He was apparently trying to escape as he was jumping on the door handle.

Daniel and I also looked at the MBT shoes.  For those of you who don’t know what these are, they look like one has clubbed feet.  They look miserable.  Apparently they’re supposed to align your body better or something.  However great they are, you won’t find me in them.

You also won’t find me in any of the other shoes Harrod’s sells.  British couture is just a bit much for me.

I would have bought the life-sized stuffed gorilla, but I don’t think he’d fit in my carry-on.

We also went shopping for our wine and cheese party (aka, we’re not at BU this semester party).  I got a bottle of sparkling white wine from Italy.  It was either the one I bought for 3 pounds or another for 30 pounds.  There was a clear decision.

OH!  We went to the Trinity Charity Shop in Kensington today.  Lots of nice clothing for sheep.  I got 2 nice shirts for 3 GBP each.  My kind of shopping.  Not that Harrod’s bologna.  That’s right.  B-O-L-O-G-N-A.  Thank you, Oscar Mayer.

Anyways, that’s all for now.

