First day at RCM today!

by courtneyanddaniel


Today, finally, is the first day us BU kiddos will officially be students at RCM.  Not to forget, it’s been 2 1/2 weeks since we first touch down in that thunderchicken of British Airways.

In the past 2 1/2 weeks, I’ve learned that the average college student can’t cook.  That’s because someone has done it for them all of their life and they haven’t taken the time to learn their way around the kitchen.  Like, it really, like, shouldn’t be such a big, well I dunno, big deal!  And then, like, do I really have to do my own, errr, dishes?!

The average college student’s kitchen is also filthy.  Which is why I thoroughly clean the kitchen every time I’m done.  Even the parts I didn’t use.

So I guess you can say in the past 2 1/2 weeks, I’ve learned how to keep my mouth shut around the morons with whom I live.

I’ve also learned how to cook on a budget.  All of that meats that Daniel and I have consumed have been on the “reduced to clear” shelf at Sainsburys or Waitrose.  That include angus beef patties for 10p each (I can make a really awesome indoor hamburger), chicken for about 1/2 price (which makes it a normal American price), and pizzas for really cheap (yes, I know pizza is not a meat, but it could be).

I even made my own bread crumbs out of the huge tiger loaf that was originally 1 GBP.  And chocolate cinnamon [French] toast for a few mornings (spread it with strawberry jam and it’s extra yummy).

Talk about resourceful… I can make pretty good Mexican food in a land where all food tastes the same.  Especially considering my spice cabinet only include salt, black pepper, chili powder, oregano, and cayenne pepper.  If I make an addition, it’ll be cumin.

This morning I’m making a quiche.  I made a bread crumb crust in the same way one would make a graham cracker crust for a cheesecake.  Devon, Daniel, and I are going to have a breakfast party in about 10 minutes.  Quiche costs less than 1 GBP to make, and sharing makes it even better!

Eating healthier (and yummier) is so easy to do once BU is not in control of your meals.  I really don’t care so much where I end up living at BU next semester, just as long as it has a kitchen with my name on it.  I’m just going to need some decent pots and pans and I’ll be all set to go!

It’s almost quiche time.  (quiche the cook!)  I’ve also become accustomed to breakfast tea.  And evening tea.

