Broccoli Salad and the start of a food blog?!

by courtneyanddaniel


So throughout the years, I’ve been getting requests for recipes. Quite frankly, I hardly use recipes. If anything, I use them as references, reading/studying several of them, then making my own decisions.

So here goes. My food blog. Don’t expect anything fancy, or anything where you won’t have to use your own brain. Or maybe even pictures. You’d know how to make everything I’ve ever made if I did it that way! And where’s the fun in that?!

So as promised, broccoli salad.

2 broccoli crowns, stems removed, cut into bit-size pieces
2 carrots, peeled and cut into small bits
1 fist-sized onion, diced (you pick what color, purple, yellow, white)
3 handfuls of sunflower seeds
2 handfuls of craisins, chopped
1 tsp-ish of lemon juice
3 scoops of mayo (I like Duke’s)
1 TBS-ish red wine vinegar
Salt and pepper to taste
1 TBS-ish sugar

You can also add crispy crumbled bacon and/or shredded cheddar, if you’d like to make it more appealing to your non-veggie eaters. Or, you can do like I did and start with those unhealthier things, then slowly remove them from the mix.

Toss, then let marinate and hang out for about 30 minutes. It’s really best overnight. Eat it within a couple of days, otherwise it starts getting extra soupy (and I’m not a fan…)

